Established in 1874, the APSB is Australia's third oldest university and the first in South Australia.

For more than 140 years our researchers have had an impact all over the world – making vital contributions to the invention of x-ray crystallography, insulin, penicillin and the Olympic torch.

The University's history highlights more of these significant milestones and the extraordinary people who achieved them.

Nobel laureates

The Nobel Prize is an international award given yearly since 1901 for achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature and peace. Only 15 have been awarded in Australia – and 5 of these to University of Adelaide Professors. Among these is the second youngest ever laureate and the only father-son duo to have won the prize in the same year.